Current Awards

Congratulations to our 2021-2022 Awardees.

2021-2022 ALCC Factsheets

ALCC awards support scientists from industry, academia and national laboratories advancing scientific and technological research in DOE mission areas including: Biophysics, Energy Efficiency in Aerospace and Combustion technologies, Fusion Energy, Geosciences, High Energy Physics, Materials Sciences, Nuclear Engineering, and Nuclear Physics.

For the 2021-2022 ALCC campaign, 78 proposals were submitted, requesting an aggregate total 50,700,000 of node-hours, more than three times the 15,900,000 node-hours originally available. Because of the high quality of applications and the current pace of upgrades to DOE’s computing facilities, the available hours for ALCC were increased to over 22,000,000 node-hours. The 41 projects selected through a competitive review process to receive allocations totaling 22,025,000 node-hours include:

Harsh Bhatia (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)

  • AI Directed Adaptive Multiscale Simulations to Model RAS-RAF Cancer Initiation Pathway on Curved Membranes
  • 740,000 node-hours on Summit

Thomas Blum (University of Connecticut)        

  • Hadronic contributions to the muon g-2 from lattice QCD using chiral fermions
  • 610,000 node-hours on Summit

Sanjeeb Bose (Cascade Technologies)

  • Achieving higher efficiency turbomachinery design via large eddy simulation
  • 100,000 node-hours on Summit

Ethan Coon (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

  • Advancing Watershed System Science using Machine Learning and Extreme-Scale Simulation
  • 270,000 node-hours on Cori

Sean Couch (Michigan State University)

  • Simulating Extreme Stellar Death: Magnetorotational Supernovae and Black Hole Formation
  • 1,600,000 node-hours on Cori

Juan de Pablo (University of Chicago)

  • Modeling of Polymeric Materials for Energy Storage Across Scales
  • 45,000 node-hours on Theta

Carleton DeTar (University of Utah)

  • Precision Calculation of the Anomalous Magnetic Moment of the Muon with Highly Improved Staggered Quarks
  • 300,000 node-hours on Summit

Fiuza Fiuza (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory)

  • Particle heating and acceleration in laboratory collisionless shocks
  • 820,000 node-hours on Cori

Michael Gao (National Energy Technology Laboratory)

  • Predicting the performance of heat-resistant alloys in extreme environments
  • 730,000 node-hours on Cori

Vikram Gavini (University of Michigan) 

  • First principles calculations of dislocation core energetics in dilute Mg alloys
  • 130,000 node-hours on Summit

Marco Govoni (Argonne National Laboratory)

  • First principles simulations of correlated quantum matter
  • 135,168 node-hours on Summit
  • 25,000 node-hours on Theta
  • 160,000 node-hours on Cori

Rafael Gomez-Bombarelli (MIT DMSE)

  • Inverse design of multicomponent oxide catalysts with generative models and DFT
  • 50,000 node-hours on Summit
  • 400,000 node-hours on Theta
  • 200,000 node-hours on Cori

John Gounley (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

  • Next-generation scalable deep learning for medical natural language processing
  • 130,000 node-hours on Summit

Walter Hannah (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)

  • Improving Shallow Clouds in a Multiscale Earth System model
  • 150,000 node-hours on Summit

Phay Ho (Argonne National Laboratory)

  • Multimodal Imaging with Intense X-ray Pulses
  • 316,000 node-hours on Theta

Forrest Hoffman (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

  • E3SM Land Model (ELM) Biogeochemistry Perturbed Parameter Ensembles Project
  • 550,000 node-hours on Cori

Wei Jiang (Argonne National Laboratory)

  • 130,000 node-hours on Summit
  • Microscopic Insight into transport properties of Li-battery electrolyte
  • 1,032,000 node-hours on Theta

Eric Johnsen (University of Michigan)

  • Cavitation dynamics in the Spallation Neutron Source Target
  • 108,000 node-hours on Theta
  • 4,000 node-hours on Summit

Ben Kirtman (University of Miami – RSMAS)

  • Advancing multi-year to decadal climate prediction with high-resolution E3SM and CESM
  • 1,000,000 node-hours on Theta

Gabriel Kotliar (Rutgers University)

  • Response functions of LaNiO2: Insights into high-temperature superconductivity
  • 115,000 node-hours on Theta

Jing Li (GE Research)

  • Characterizing Coastal Low-Level Jets and their Impact on Offshore Wind Farms
  • 240,000 node-hours on Summit

Alessandro Lovato (Argonne National Laboratory)

  • Quantum Monte Carlo calculations of nuclei up to 16O and neutron matter
  • 632,000 node-hours on Theta

Po-Lun Ma (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)

  • Multi-Scale Multi-Physics Ensemble Simulations for Aerosol-Cloud Interactions
  • 400,000 node-hours on Theta

Ashlie Martini (University of California Merced)

  • Understanding the Role of Surface Energy in the Deformation of Metal Nanoparticles
  • 300,000 node-hours on Cori

Elia Merzari (Pennsylvania State University)

  • High-Fidelity Flow Data for Multiscale Bridging
  • 250,000 node-hours on Summit

Parviz Moin (Stanford University)

  • Multiscale bubble breakup and gas transfer in turbulent oceanic environments
  • 650,000 node-hours on Theta
  • 500,000 node-hours on Cori

Amy Nicholson (UNC Chapel Hill)

  • Electromagnetic corrections to strong dynamics
  • 300,000 node-hours on Summit

Joseph Oefelein (Georgia Institute of Technology)

  • Investigation of Compressibility and Nonequilibrium Turbulence in Reacting Flows
  • 600,000 node-hours on Summit

Michael Osusky (GE Research)

  • Applying Machine Learning to Reynolds Number Impact on High Pressure Turbine Flow
  • 256,000 node-hours on Summit

Johnathan Ozik (Argonne National Laboratory)

  • Probabilistic Comparative Modeling of Colorectal Cancer Screening Strategies
  • 160,000 node-hours on Theta

Andreas Prein (National Center for Atmospheric Research)

  • Improving the Representation of Mesoscale Convective Systems in Weather and Climate Models
  • 372,000 node-hours on Theta

Balasubramaniam Radhakrishnan (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

  • Design of Novel Titanium Based Alloys for Additive Manufacturing using HPC-Aided Large-Scale Phase Field Simulations
  • 1,250,000 node-hours on Summit

Igor Rakhno (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory)

  • LBNF - PIP-II Optimization studies for Megawatt 120-GeV beams on target
  • 450,000 node-hours on Theta

Chuang Ren (University of Rochester)

  • Predicting hot electrons for inertial confinement fusion
  • 800,000 node-hours on Cori

Dillon Shaver (Argonne National Laboratory)

  • High-Fidelity CFD Simulations Supporting the Needs of Industry and the DOE
  • 80,000 node-hours on Summit
  • 550,000 node-hours on Theta

Ashley Shields (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)

  • Informing Forensics Investigations of Nuclear Materials
  • 368,000 node-hours on Summit

Jeffrey Skolnick (Georgia Tech Research Corporation)

  • Breaking the gene annotation bottleneck with structure-based machine learning
  • 50,000 node-hours on Summit

William Tang (Princeton University)

  • AI/Deep Learning Prediction & Real-Time Control for Fusion Energy Systems
  • 45,000 node-hours on Theta

Lucas Wagner (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

  • QMC-HAMM: From the nanoscale to the mesoscale.
  • 300,000 node-hours on Summit

Brian Wirth (University of Tennessee, Knoxville)

  • Plasma Surface Interactions Modeling
  • 1,100,000 node-hours on Summit
  • 1,680,000 node-hours on Cori

Xinlu Xu (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory)

  • Compact coherent X-ray sources based on plasma-based acceleration
  • 800,000 node-hours on Cori

Yiqi Yu (Argonne National Laboratory)

  • High fidelity simulation of flow and heat transfer behavior to support conversion of research reactors with involute shaped fuel elements to low enriched uranium
  • 500,000 node-hours on Theta