December 6, 2021

Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee
December 6, 2021


Time Topic Presentation


Monday, December 6, 2021


11:00am – 11:15am


Marc Kastner, MIT (retired)

11:15am – 11:45am

Office of Science Update

Steve Binkley, Acting Director
Office of Science

11:45am – 12:15pm

Office of Basic Energy Sciences Update


Linda Horton, Associate Director
Bruce Garrett, CSGB Division Director
Andrew Schwartz, MSE Acting Division Director


12:15pm – 12:45pm

30-minute Break


12:45pm – 1:15pm

Office of Science Distinguished Scientist Fellow

Jose Rodriguez
Brookhaven National Laboratory

1:15pm – 1:45pm

SC QIS Centers

Irfan Siddiqi
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

1:45pm – 2:05pm

Roundtable on Foundational Science for Carbon-Neutral Hydrogen Technologies

Karren More
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

2:05pm – 2:30pm

25-minute Break


2:30pm – 3:30pm

Panel Discussion: 
Science and Energy Technology Teams


Moderator:  John Vetrano, BES
Hydrogen:  Sunita Satyapal, EERE
   Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies
Energy Storage:  Eric Hsieh, OE Grid Systems and Components
Carbon Dioxide Removal:  Emily Grubert, FECM Deputy Assistant Secretary


3:30pm – 4:30pm

Facility Updates: 

  • Linac Coherent Light Source
  • Neutron Scattering (Spallation Neutron Source/High Flux Isotope Reactor)
  • Nanoscale Research Centers

Mike Dunne, SLAC
Ken Andersen, ORNL

Jeff Nelson, SNL

4:30pm – 4:50pm

Pre-Committee of Visitors Overview:  SC Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists (WDTS)

Ping Ge, WDTS

4:50pm – 5:00pm

Public Comment Session