John Negele (MIT) Awarded Feshbach Prize for Theoretical Nuclear Physics

The Feshbach Prize in Theoretical Nuclear Physics was established this year by the American Physical Society (APS) “To recognize and encourage outstanding research in theoretical nuclear physics.” The Prize commemorates Herman Feshbach, who, was a renowned Professor of Theoretical Nuclear Physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) for over 50 years, and served as Department Chair and Director of the MIT Center for Theoretical Physics.
It is supported by the APS Division of Nuclear Physics (DNP), and by the Feshbach family and friends.

The recipient of the inaugural Feshbach Prize is Professor John Negele of MIT. According to the APS announcement, Professor Negele is being acknowledged

"For lifetime contributions to nuclear many-body theory, including identifying mechanisms for saturation and relating the Skyrme interaction to fundamental nuclear forces; and for initiating and leading efforts to understand the nucleon using lattice QCD."

John Negle (MIT)
Professor John Negele (MIT)

Professor Negele’s research program on Lattice Quantum Chromodynamics receives support from the DOE’s Office of Nuclear Physics (NP), and from the Office of Advanced Scientific Computing Research (ASCR) through the program “Scientific Discovery through Advanced Computation” (SciDAC).

Additional information regarding Professor Negele’s research and the Feshbach Prize is provided at the links below.