Community Resources

What's New

Office of Science Achievement Award for 2022 Presented to The Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB)

Designed to be the most powerful heavy-ion accelerator, FRIB enables scientists to make discoveries about the properties of short-lived nuclei not commonly found on Earth known as rare isotopes with implications in nuclear astrophysics, fundamental interactions, and with applications for society, including in medicine, homeland security, and industry.

Consisting of a four-building complex that extends 32 feet underground joined to an underground tunnel 570 feet long, 70 feet wide, and 13 feet high housing a superconducting linear accelerator capable of delivering a 400 kW at beam energies in excess of 200 MeV/nucleon, this Office of Science User Facility, with an active user community of over 1,800, accelerates beams comprised of stable atomic nuclei from hydrogen to uranium to half the speed of light which following collision with a thin target material creates reaction products including the rare isotopes requested by experimenters. A fragment separator uses 13 superconducting magnet elements to select isotopes and sends them to the experimental area where detectors measure their unique properties or interaction with other nuclei.

The project team is commended for their ingenuity and outstanding planning to successfully complete the project within budget and on schedule. FRIB is a proud and extraordinary achievement for DOE and the Nation.

Argonne hosts conference for undergraduate women in physics

Weekend-long event connects women with resources, community, information on graduate school and professionals in their field.

2023 Tom W. Bonner Prize in Nuclear Physics

Professor Jen-Chieh Peng

2023 Tom W. Bonner Prize in Nuclear Physics Recipient

The Bonner prize was established by the American Physical Society (APS) to recognize and encourage outstanding research in nuclear physics, including the development of a method, technique, or device that significantly contributes in a general way to nuclear physics research. The prize was endowed in 1964 as a memorial to Tom W. Bonner by his friends, students and associates.

The recipient of the 2023 Bonner Prize is Professor Jen-Chieh Peng According to the APS announcement is being acknowledged "For pioneering work on studying antiquark distributions in the nucleons and nuclei using the Drell-Yan process as an experimental tool, and for seminal work on elucidating the origins of the flavor asymmetries of the light-quark sea in the nucleons."

Professor Peng’s research is supported by the DOE’s Office of Science, Office of Nuclear Physics (NP).

Below is the link to the corresponding APS web site:

News Archives