Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee April 25, 2023


Time Topic Presentation

11:00am – 11:15am


Cynthia Friend, The Kavli Foundation
Esther Takeuchi, Stony Brook University/ BNL
BESAC Vice-Chair

11:15am – 11:45am

Office of Science Welcome

Asmeret Asefaw Berhe, Director, Office of Science

11:45am – 12:30pm

Office of Basic Energy Sciences Update

Linda Horton, Associate Director
Gail McLean, Acting CSGB Division Director
Andrew Schwartz, MSE Division Director

12:30pm – 12:45pm

In Memory of George Crabtree

Marc Kastner, MIT, Retired 

12:45pm – 1:15pm

30-minute Break


1:15pm – 1:30pm


Andrew Schwartz

1:30pm – 2:40pm

Fundamental Research and Facilities for Microelectronics

Panel Lead - Andrew Schwartz
Nancy Haegel, NREL
Supratik Guha, ANL/ University of Chicago
Susan Trolier-McKinstry, Penn State University
John Hill, BNL
2:40pm – 3:10pm  Update on Charges

Cynthia Friend

3:40pm – 4:50pm

Nanoscale Science Research Centers

Panel Lead – Murray Gibson, FAMU-FSU
Karren More, Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences
Jeff Nelson, Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies
Kristin Persson, Molecular Foundry
Ilke Arslan, Center for Nanoscale Materials
Chuck Black, Center for Functional Materials

4:50pm – 5:00pm  Public Comment Session