Dr. Sharon Stephenson

Dr. Sharon Stephenson is the Division Director for the Office of Nuclear Science Research Division.  She has been with the Office of Nuclear Physics since August 2019 and previously oversaw the nuclear structure and nuclear astrophysics program.

Dr. Stephenson received a Ph.D. in physics from North Carolina State University for research performed at Los Alamos National Laboratory’s Los Alamos Neutron Science Center as a Patricia Roberts Harris Fellow.  Her research received the Lois Rosen Dissertation prize.

Prior to joining the Office of Nuclear Physics, Dr. Stephenson was the W.K.T. Sahm Professor and department chair in the physics department at Gettysburg College. While there, she received both the Johnson Center for Creative Teaching and Learning Excellence in Teaching Award and the Luther W. and Bernice L. Thompson Distinguished Teaching Award. She has served as a Master Coach with the National Center for Faculty Development and Diversity (NCFDD) and is a member of Phi Beta Kappa.

Contact Information:

Dr. Sharon Stephenson
Research Division
NP/Germantown Building
U.S. Department of Energy
19901 Germantown Rd.
Germantown, MD 20874