Dr James J Rhyne

Dr. James Rhyne

Program Manager
Neutronand X-rayScattering Facilities
Office of Basic Energy Sciences
SC-32.3/Germantown Building
U.S. Department of Energy
1000 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, D.C. 20585-1290
E-Mail: James.Rhyne@science.doe.gov
Phone: (301) 903-6827
Fax: (301) 903-1690

Dr. James J. Rhyne joined the Scientific User Facilities Division of DOE’s Office of Basic Energy Sciences in February 2013 as a program manager for Neutron and X-ray Scattering Facilities.  He had been the Deputy Director for Science of the Lujan Neutron Scattering Center at Los Alamos National Laboratory since 2003

Previously Rhyne was the director of the University of Missouri Research Reactor Center in Columbia, MO and a professor of physics.  He also was the initiating director of the Center for High-Resolution Neutron Scattering, part of the NIST Center for Neutron Research, at the National Institute of Standards and Technology. 

Rhyne was elected president of the Neutron Scattering Society of America (NSSA) in 1999.  During his tenure the American Conference on Neutron Scattering was initiated.  He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and of the NSSA.  In 1995, Dr. Rhyne was awarded the Doctor Honoris Causa from the Université Henri Poincaré in Nancy, France.  His Ph.D degree is from Iowa State University in condensed matter physics

Dr. Rhyne’s research work has focused on magnetic materials using neutron scattering, magnetization, and transport property techniques.  He is the author of more than 230 papers principally on rare earth materials, magnetic oxides, metallic superlatices, and nanomagnetic systems, and has presented numerous invited talks at national and international conferences, colloquia, and workshops.  He has served as chair or member of many national and international review panels, national laboratory advisory committees, and organizing committees for conferences on magnetism and rare earth materials.