Basic Energy Science Advisory Committee December 12th, 2023


Time Topic Presentation
11:00am – 11:15am Introduction Cynthia Friend, The Kavli Foundation
Esther Takeuchi, Stony Brook University/Brookhaven National
BESAC Vice-Chair

11:15am – 12:00pm Update on FY 2023 Charges Moderator: Cynthia Friend
Research Investment Strategies: Esther Takeuchi
NSRCs: Murray Gibson, Florida A&M/Florida State University 
12:00pm – 12:15pm Office of Science Update Asmeret Asefaw Berhe, Director, Office of Science
12:15pm – 12:45pm Office of Basic Energy Sciences Update Linda Horton, BES Associate Director
Gail McLean, BES Chemical Sciences, Geosciences and
Biosciences Division Director
Andrew Schwartz, BES Materials Sciences and Engineering
Division Director
12:45pm – 1:15pm  30-Minute Break
1:15pm – 2:45pm Science Opportunities with the Upgraded
LCLS: Panel Discussion
Moderator: Mike Dunne, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Matteo Mitrano, Harvard University
Daniel Rolles, Kansas State University
Toni Taylor, Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL), Retired
Junko Yano, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL) 
2:45pm – 3:15pm Accelerator Instrumentation BRN Laurent Chapon, Argonne National Laboratory (ANL)
3:15pm – 3:45pm 30-Minute Break
3:45pm – 4:30pm  Distinguished Scientist Presentation

Sheng Dai, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) 

4:30pm – 5:00pm WDTS COV & MSE COV Simon Bare, SLAC
Frances Hellman, University of California Berkeley/LBNL 
5:00pm – 5:10pm  Public Comment Session 
5:10pm  Adjourn