Staff

Office of Basic Energy Sciences
Dr. Linda Horton, Director

Materials Sciences and Engineering Division
Dr. Andy Schwartz, Director
Staff Biographies

Chemical Sciences, Geosciences, and Biosciences Division
Dr. Gail McLean, Acting Director 
Staff Biographies

Scientific User Facilities Division
Dr. Linda Horton, Acting Director
Staff Biographies


BES Organization Chart  |  BES Telephone Listing 

A brief history of the BES organization.


Mailing Address

SC-32, Germantown Building
U.S. Department of Energy;
1000 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20585-1290

Location, address for express mail & packages

SC-32, U.S. Department of Energy
19901 Germantown Road
Germantown, MD 20874-1290
Directions to BES offices

 


BES "Front Office" Staff Listing (SC-32)

Financial Management Specialist
Kara Beles
Budget Formulation, including preparation of the Internal DOE, OMB, and President’s Request Budgets; Budget Execution; Response to Legislative Direction Resulting from Authorization and Appropriation Bills
Phone: 301/903-7852
Email: Kara.Beles@science.doe.gov
Room Number: E-409

Program Analyst
Teresa Crockett
Budget Execution and Analysis; Principal Investigator Meetings; BES PAMS Liaison
Phone: 301/903-5804
Email: Teresa.Crockett@science.doe.gov
Room Number: F-417

Program Manager
Robin Hayes
Energy Frontier Research Centers; Early Career Research Program; Website Communications
Phone: 301/903-9659
Email: Robin.Hayes@science.doe.gov
Room Number: F-426

Financial Management Specialist
Donetta Herbert
Budget Formulation Lead, including preparation of the Internal DOE, OMB, and President’s Request Budgets; Budget Execution Lead; Response to Legislative Direction Resulting from Authorization and Appropriation Bills
Phone: 301/903-1061
Email: Donetta.Herbert@science.doe.gov
Room Number: E-409

Management and Program Analyst
Kerry Hochberger
BESAC Administrator, Administration for Energy Frontier Research Centers & Early Career Research Program; BES Staffing Support
Phone: 301/903-7661
Email: Kerry.Hochberger@science.doe.gov
Room Number: F-417 

Senior Technical Advisor
Thomas Russell
Strategic Planning; Budget Formulation Technical Lead; Technical Inquiries for Budget, Congressional, OMB, etc.
Phone: 301/903-1425
Email: Thomas.Russell@science.doe.gov
Room Number: F-407

Senior Technical Advisor for Energy Frontier Research Centers
Andy Schwartz
Energy Frontier Research Centers, Early Career Research Program
Phone: 301/903-3535
Email: Andrew.Schwartz@science.doe.gov
Room Number: F-421