Staff

Office of Basic Energy Sciences
Dr. Harriet Kung, Director

Materials Sciences and Engineering
Dr. Linda Horton, Director
Staff Biographies

Chemical Sciences, Geosciences, and Biosciences
Dr. Bruce Garrett
Staff Biographies

Scientific User Facilities
Dr. James Murphy, Director
Staff Biographies


BES Organization Chart  |  BES Telephone Listing 

A brief history of the BES organization.


Mailing Address

SC-22, Germantown Building
U.S. Department of Energy;
1000 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20585-1290

Location, address for express mail & packages

SC-22, U.S. Department of Energy
19901 Germantown Road
Germantown, MD 20874-1290
Directions to BES offices

 


BES "Front Office" Staff Listing (SC-22)

Program Manager
Robin Hayes
Energy Frontier Research Centers; Nanotechnology; Molecular Dynamics; Surface Chemistry; Computational Materials Sciences
Phone: 301/903-9659
Email: Robin.Hayes@science.doe.gov
Room Number: F-426

Financial Management Specialist
Donetta Herbert
Budget Formulation, including preparation of the Internal DOE, OMB, and President’s Budgets; Budget Execution; Response to Legislative Direction Resulting from Authorization and Appropriation Bills
Phone: 301/903-1061
Email: donetta.herbert@science.doe.gov
Room Number: E-409

Program Manager
Natalia Melcer
Budget Formulation, Strategic Planning, Communications
Phone: 301/903-0821
Email: natalia.melcer@science.doe.gov
Room Number: E-411

Program Analyst
Katie Runkles
BESAC Administrator; Graphics, Database, and Archives Management; Response Coordinator on Budget, Congressional, OMB, etc.
Phone: 301/903-6529
Email: katie.runkles@science.doe.gov
Room Number: F-416

Senior Technical Advisor
Thomas Russell
Phone: 301/903-1425
Email: Thomas.Russell@science.doe.gov
Room Number: F-407

Senior Technical Advisor for Energy Frontier Research Centers
Andy Schwartz
Phone: 301/903-3535
Email: Andrew.Schwartz@science.doe.gov
Room Number: F-421