Office of Basic Energy Sciences
Dr. Linda Horton, Director

Materials Sciences and Engineering Division
Dr. Andy Schwartz, Acting Director
Staff Biographies

Chemical Sciences, Geosciences, and Biosciences Division
Dr. Bruce Garrett, Director
Staff Biographies

Scientific User Facilities Division
Dr. Linda Horton, Acting Director
Staff Biographies

BES Organization Chart  |  BES Telephone Listing 

A brief history of the BES organization.

Mailing Address

SC-32, Germantown Building
U.S. Department of Energy;
1000 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20585-1290

Location, address for express mail & packages

SC-32, U.S. Department of Energy
19901 Germantown Road
Germantown, MD 20874-1290
Directions to BES offices


BES "Front Office" Staff Listing (SC-32)

Program Analyst
Teresa Crockett
Budget Execution and Analysis; Principal Investigator Meetings; BES PAMS Liaison
Phone: 301/903-5804
Room Number: F-417

Program Manager
Robin Hayes
Energy Frontier Research Centers; Early Career Research Program; Website Communications
Phone: 301/903-9659
Room Number: F-426

Financial Management Specialist
Donetta Herbert
Budget Formulation Lead, including preparation of the Internal DOE, OMB, and President’s Request Budgets; Budget Execution Lead; Response to Legislative Direction Resulting from Authorization and Appropriation Bills
Phone: 301/903-1061
Room Number: E-409

Program Support Specialist
Kerry Hochberger
Administration for Energy Frontier Research Centers & Early Career Research Program; BES Staffing Support; BES PAMS Liaison
Phone: 301/903-7661
Room Number: F-417 

Program Analyst
Katie Runkles
BESAC Administrator
Phone: 301/903-6529
Room Number: F-416

Senior Technical Advisor
Thomas Russell
Strategic Planning; Budget Formulation Technical Lead; Technical Inquiries for Budget, Congressional, OMB, etc.
Phone: 301/903-1425
Room Number: F-407

Senior Technical Advisor for Energy Frontier Research Centers
Andy Schwartz
Energy Frontier Research Centers, Early Career Research Program
Phone: 301/903-3535
Room Number: F-421