2014 Ceremony

On July 23, 2015 The Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award was conferred upon nine exceptional scientists:

  • Mei Bai, Brookhaven National Laboratory: for her work advancing nuclear physics
  • Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Stanford University: for her work advancing atomic, molecular, and chemical sciences
  • Pavel Bochev, Sandia National Laboratories: for his work advancing computer, information, and knowledge sciences
  • Eric E. Dors, Los Alamos National Laboratory: for his work advancing national security and nonproliferation 
  • Christopher L. Fryer, Los Alamos National Laboratory: for his work advancing fusion and plasma sciences
  • David J. Schlegel, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory: for his work advancing high energy physics
  • Brian D. Wirth, University of Tennessee: for his work advancing energy science and innovation
  • Peidong Yang, University of California, Berkeley: for his work advancing condensed matter and materials sciences
  • Jizhong (Joe) Zhou, University of Oklahoma: for his work advancing biological and environmental sciences

Full Ceremony Video

Ceremony Photos

2014 Lawrence Awardees with Secretary MonizPhoto courtesy of Ken Shipp, DOE

Pictured left to right are: John Kotek, Acting Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy; Madelyn Creedon, Principle Deputy Administrator for the National Security Administration; Patricia M. Dehmer, Acting Director for Office of Science; Awardee Eric E. Dors; Awardee Brian D. Wirth; Lynn Orr, Under Secretary for Science and Energy; Awardee Pavel Bochev; Secretary of Energy Ernest Moniz; Awardee Christopher L. Fryer; Elizabeth Sherwood-Randall, Deputy Secretary of Energy; Awardee Carolyn R. Bertozzi; Awardee Peidong Yang; Awardee David J. Schlegel; Awardee Mei Bai; and awardee Jizhong (Joe) Zhou.

Medals presented to the 2014 Lawrence Awardees.Photo courtesy of Ken Shipp, DOE

Each Lawrence Award category winner receives a citation signed by the Secretary of Energy, a gold medal bearing the likeness of Ernest Orlando Lawrence, and an honorarium.

 More photos coming soon.