The Awards Ceremony honoring the 2020 E.O. Lawrence Laureates was held on Tuesday, January 19th, 2021.

To watch the recording of the Awards Ceremony click here.

The ceremony program can be viewed here.

The E.O. Lawrence Awards are Secretarial awards, recognizing mid-career U.S. scientists and engineers for exceptional scientific, technical, and engineering achievements related to the broad missions of the U.S. Department of Energy and its programs. The awards are among the longest running and most prestigious science and technology awards bestowed by the U.S. Government.

The award was conferred upon 8 distinguished scientists:

Yi Cui (Stanford University and SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) – Energy Science and Innovation

For exceptional contributions in nanomaterials design, synthesis and characterization for energy and the environment, particularly for transformational innovations in battery science and technology.

Dana M. Dattelbaum (Los Alamos National Laboratory) – National Security and Nonproliferation

For pioneering physical insights into shock and detonation physics, innovations in the development of Equations of State for energetics and polymers, and critical data for hydrodynamic simulations essential to the National Security programs.

Dustin H. Froula (University of Rochester) – Fusion and Plasma Sciences

For innovative research in laser plasma physics including pioneering spatiotemporal pulse shaping techniques, focused laser plasma instability research, and novel high-resolution Thomson scattering methods that has significantly advanced the Department of Energy’s mission.

M. Zahid Hasan (Princeton University and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) – Condensed Matter and Materials Sciences

For groundbreaking discoveries using spin-angle-resolved photoemission spectroscopy, which elucidated the topological nature and electronic structure of topological insulators, topological phase transitions, and topological semimetals (Weyl fermions), revealing them as new phases of quantum matter.

Daniel Kasen (University of California, Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) – Nuclear Physics

For pioneering contributions in multi-messenger astrophysics, including seminal work on kilonovae, r-process nucleosynthesis, white dwarfs, and Type I and II supernovae; and for leadership in the application of high performance computing in astrophysics.

Robert B. Ross (Argonne National Laboratory) – Computer, Information, and Knowledge Sciences

For significant research contributions in the areas of scientific data storage and management, and communication software and architectures; and leadership in major DOE initiatives such as the SciDAC program. 

Susannah G. Tringe (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) – Biological and Environmental Sciences

For advances in sequence-based studies of microbial assemblies, revealing the roles of microbial communities in carbon cycling, in interactions with plants, and as drivers of methane production, nutrient cycling, greenhouse gas emissions, and water recycling.

Krista S. Walton (Georgia Institute of Technology) – Atomic, Molecular, and Chemical Sciences

For groundbreaking research on understanding and control of the hydrolytic and chemical stability of porous metal-organic frameworks in complex environments, and for its transformative impact on separation science.