Nine Advanced Detector Research Grants Awarded

The Advanced Detector Research (ADR) program is a competitive grant program in the Office of High Energy Physics that supports detector research by university-based physicists. The ADR program seeks to encourage research into detector technologies that will enable new, not yet approved experiments. For the FY 2006 cycle, nine proposals were selected for funding based on external peer reviews, totaling $555,000 in new FY06 commitments. The winners will investigate new or improved detector technologies for dark matter searches, calorimetry, particle identification, low-cost distributed electronics, and diamond sensors. They are:

Steve Ahlen

Boston University

James Beatty

Ohio State University

Henry Frisch

University of Chicago

David Hitlin

California Institute of Technology

Harris Kagan

Ohio State University

David Saltzberg

University of California, Los Angeles

Lee Sawyer

Louisiana Tech University

Gary Varner
University of Hawaii
Rainer Wallny
University of California, Los Angeles