Basic Energy Science Advisory Committee April 9-10, 2024


Tuesday, April 9, 2024
Time Topic Presentation
10:00am – 10:15am Introduction Cynthia Friend, The Kavli Foundation
Esther Takeuchi, Stony Brook University/Brookhaven 
National Laboratory
BESAC Vice-Chair

10:15am – 12:30pm Update on Research Investment Strategies Subcommittee & Report Out for the NSRC Subcommittee Moderator: Cynthia Friend
Research Investment Strategies: Esther Takeuchi & Marc Kastner, Retired MIT
NSRCs: Murray Gibson, Florida A&M/Florida State University & Karl Mueller, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL)
12:30pm – 1:45pm Lunch On Your Own  
1:45pm – 1:55pm  Welcome  3:00pm 
1:55pm – 2:55pm  Office of Basic Energy Sciences Update Andrew Schwartz, Acting BES Associate Director Gail McLean, BES Chemical Sciences, Geosciences and Biosciences Division Director
2:55pm – 3:10pm 15-Minute Break
3:10pm – 4:10pm Scientific Progress in Biomolecular Materials Moderator: James De Yoreo, PNNL
Monica Olvera de la Cruz, Northwestern University
Rebecca Schulman, Johns Hopkins University
Akif Tezcan, University of California, San Diego
4:10pm – 4:55pm Additional discussion - Research Investment
Strategies & NSRC Subcommittee
4:55pm – 5:10pm Public Comment Session

5:10pm  Adjourn
Wednesday, April 10, 2024
Time Topic Presentation
9:30am – 10:00am Office of Science Update  Harriet Kung, Acting Director, Office of Science

10:00am – 12:00pm Facilities Charge Report Out and Discussion Eric Isaacs, Carnegie Institution for Science & Serena DeBeer, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion
12:00pm – 1:30pm Lunch On Your Own  
1:30pm – 2:45pm Continued Discussions on Facilities Report Moderator: Cynthia Friend
2:45pm – 3:00pm Public Comment Session  
2:55pm – 3:10pm Adjourn