July 30, 2020

Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee
July 30, 2020

Please click this link to join the webinar: Or Telephone:Dial 833 568 8864 (Toll Free) Webinar ID: 161 166 7990 Password: 414810

Time Topic Presentation


Thursday, July 30, 2020


10:45am – 11:00am


Marc Kastner, BESAC Chair
Science Philanthropy Alliance

11:00am – 11:30am

News from Office of Science

Harriet Kung, Deputy Director for Science Programs

11:30am – 12:30pm

International Benchmarking Subcommittee Discussion

BESAC Members

12:30pm - 1:00pm



1:00pm – 1:30pm

Office of Basic Energy Sciences Update

Linda Horton, Associate Director
Office of Basic Energy Sciences

1:30pm – 3:15pm 

Neutron Subcommittee Report Presentation and Discussion for approval of the report

Robert Birgeneau
University of California-Berkeley
David Robertson
MURR Reactor at Missouri

3:15pm – 3:35pm

Basic Research Needs for Transformative Manufacturing Workshop Report

Cynthia Jenks
Argonne National Lab

3:35pm – 4:15pm

Committee of Visitors for Chemical Sciences, Geosciences, and Biosciences Announcement

Committee of Visitors for Energy Frontier Research Centers and the Energy Innovation Hubs Program Announcement

Bruce Garrett
Basic Energy Sciences

Andy Schwartz
Basic Energy Sciences

 4:15pm – 4:30pm Comments from the Office of Science  Chris Fall, Director
Office of Science 

4:30pm – 4:40pm

Public Comment Session