DOE Headquarters HSPP Leads

Dr. Sharlene Weatherwax

Sharlene Weatherwax, DOE Institutional Official for Human Subjects Research

  • Dr. Sharlene Weatherwax is the DOE Office of Science’s Associate Director for Biological and Environmental Research. With an annual budget of more than $600 million, the Office of Biological and Environmental Research (BER) is the nation’s leading supporter of fundamental research and facilities for energy, climate, and the environment.
  • Dr. Weatherwax received her Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of California Berkeley and was a National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow in Plant Biology at the University of California in Los Angeles. She came to DOE in 1999 to manage the Energy Biosciences Program in the Office of Basic Energy Sciences. In 2005, she joined BER as a program manager and contributed to the development of the Genomic Science strategic plan and the establishment of three Office of Science Bioenergy Research Centers (BRCs) to provide critical science and technology solutions for our energy needs. Dr. Weatherwax managed the three BRCs, multidisciplinary partnerships between national laboratories, academic and industrial research institutions. She has participated in a number of interagency activities and is a co-chair of the White House National Science and Technology Council Subcommittee on Life Sciences. She also established the joint USDA-DOE Plant Feedstock Genomics for Bioenergy program for genomics-based research leading to the improved use of biomass and plant feedstocks for the production of biofuels or renewable chemical feedstocks.
  • Dr. Weatherwax served as Division Director of BER’s Biological Systems Science Division for two years and Acting Associate Director of Science for BER for 5 months prior to being selected as Associate Director in April 2011.
  • Dr. Weatherwax has been a supporter of the DOE Human Subjects Protection Program since she came to BER, and has served as DOE’s Institutional Official for human subjects research since October 2010.
Elizabeth (Libby) White

Elizabeth (Libby) White is the DOE Human Subjects Protection Program Manager. She moved to the Office of Science in 2007 from the Department’s Office of Health and Safety (AU), where she was Director of the Office of Former Worker Screening Programs. During her 12 years in AU and its predecessor organization, she managed both domestic medical screening services and international radiation health effects research involving human subjects. Libby is a certified IRB professional (CIP) and has a M.B.A. from Northwestern University and a M.P.H. from Johns Hopkins University.

Cheri Hautala-Bateman is the NNSA Human Subjects Protection Program Manager.  Dr. Cheri Hautala-Bateman serves as the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) Human Subjects Protection Program Manager.  She also serves as the program manager for the Strategic Partnership Programs (SPP) at the Department of Energy/NNSA.  She is responsible for overseeing interagency work and non-government sponsored work across the NNSA complex.  She also assists the Assistant Deputy Administrator for SPP in working with the NNSA Defense Programs Science Council and coordinating technical research topics for study. Prior to assuming this role, she served as a senior test scientist at the Department of Homeland Security’s Domestic Nuclear Detection Office.  She has also served as a senior scientist at the Remote Sensing Laboratory, Andrews AFB location, with responsibility for supporting nuclear and radiological emergency response efforts, as well as managing a support program with three remote offices.

Dr. Hautala-Bateman graduated from the University of MN, Morris with a Bachelor of Arts degree in mathematics and physics.  She earned her Ph.D. in nuclear physics from the Ohio University.

Other Key Personnel Who Support the DOE HSPP


Barbara Brown, DOE Office of Intelligence and Counterintelligence, is the Administrator for the Central DOE IRB-C.


Janel Stocton

Janel Stocton, ORAU, provides technical assistance to the DOE HSPP. She has provided support to the Department of Energy (DOE) since March of 2015 by facilitating communications to and among Institutional Review Board (IRB) and Human Subjects Working Group (HSWG) members; coordinating and supporting meetings and events; providing technical expertise and assistance for resource development and implementation; and supporting efforts for continuing education opportunities and resources for IRB and HSWG members, and subject matter experts. She has more than 15 years of professional experience in communications, event planning, project management, and technical assistance. Janel earned her B.A. in Communication Studies from Concordia College in Moorhead, MN.

Betsy Ellis 

Betsy Ellis, ORAU, has been involved with human subjects protection for over 25 years Dr. Elllis is the Chair of the Oak Ridge Site-wide IRB and has been a member of DOE central IRBs since their inception in 2001. Employed at ORAU for over 35 years, Betsy is an associate director of the Center for Epidemiologic Research and has spent her career studying the effects of occupational exposures on the health of the DOE work force. She serves on a task group to the International Commission on Radiation Protection evaluating the need for additional research on health effects resulting from occupational exposure to alpha emitters. She holds a Ph.D. in epidemiology from the University of North Carolina.

Lindsay Motz 

Lindsay Motz, ORAU, is institutional review board (IRB) administrator for the Central Department of Energy (DOE) IRB and the Oak Ridge Site-wide IRB. During her time at ORAU she has worked on the Beryllium-Associated Worker Registry (BAWR) and the Human Subjects Research Database (HSRD). She began working with the IRBs during her time as the Manager for the HSRD. She is responsible for daily operations of both boards and still assist with the annual HSRD report and serves as a back-up Administrator to the other central DOE IRB.. She has a B.S. in Public Health from East Tennessee State University and a graduate certificate in bioethics from Washington State University. In 2014 she became a certified institutional review board professional (CIP).

Jim Morris, Dr. James E. Morris serves as the Chair of the Central Department of Energy Institutional Review Board (CDOEIRB). He earned his Ph.D. from the University of Georgia in 1970. His areas of training and expertise were immunology, immunochemistry and microbiology. This included a post-doctoral appointment at City of Hope Medical Center, Duarte, CA to study, develop and apply antibody-based diagnostics for measuring immune protein markers as well as the carcinoembryonic antigen (CEA). He continued his pursuit of basic research at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA in the areas of immunotoxicology and applied diagnostics. His research activities ended in 2013 when he retired as a senior research scientist at PNNL after 40 years of service. He has served as a member or chair of IRBs for the last 15 years. This included positions at PNNL and over 6 years as a member or Chair of DOEIRBs. He is committed to always seeking the protection of human subjects in research and ensuring that each committee member on the Board has an equal opportunity to contribute in this process.