Office of Fusion Energy Sciences (SC-34) 

Associate Director
James W. Van Dam
Phone: 301-903-4941
Fax: 301-903-8584

Administrative Specialist
Vera Bibbs
Personal Assistant to the Associate Director and Office Manager for SC-34
Phone: 301-903-4941

Program Analyst for Budget and FES Human Resource Liaison
Pam Miller 
Phone: 301-903-4788

Chief of Staff to the Associate Director
Gene Nardella
Phone: 301-903-4956

Organization Chart


Mailing Address:
Office of Fusion Energy Sciences 
SC-34/Germantown Building 
U.S. Department of Energy 
1000 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, D.C. 20585-1290

Special Delivery Address: 
Office of Fusion Energy Sciences 
U.S. Department of Energy/SC-34 
19901 Germantown Road 
Germantown, MD 20874-1290

Facilities, Operations, and Projects Division (SC-34.1)
Joseph J. May
Phone: 301-903-3068
Fax: 301-903-1233

Program Support

Sandy Newton
Program Specialist - Personal Assistant to the Division Director, Division Office Manager for SC-34.1, and FESAC Administrative Support (Manager) (301-903-3068)

Shahida Afzal
Program Analyst for International Agreements (301-903-1592)

Program Management 

Program Manager
Barry Sullivan
NSTX-U Recovery, MPEX MIE, Safety & Health
Phone: 301-903-8438

Program Manager
Jeff Thomas
U.S. ITER, MEC PLF Upgrade
Phone: 301-903-4678

Deputy Program Manager
Anthony Indelicato
U.S. ITER, MEC PLF Upgrade
Phone: 609-815-0346

Senior Policy Advisor
Tom Vanek
U.S. ITER Project and International Agreements Program
Phone: 301-903-8456 

Research Division (SC-34.2) 
John Mandrekas
Phone: 301-903-4095 
Fax: 301-903-8584

Program Support 
Administrative Specialist
Yvette Walker
Personal Assistant to the Division Director and Division Office Manager for SC-34.2
Phone: 301-903-3563

Program Analyst
Marty Carlin
Phone: 301-903-3287

Program Management
Program Manager
Kramer Akli 
High Energy Density Laboratory Plasmas, QIS
Phone: 301-903-2943

Program Manager
Sam Barish
Long Pulse Stellarators and FESAC
Phone: 301-903-2917

Program Manager
Curt Bolton
Measurement Innovation and SBIR/STTR
Phone: 301-903-4914

Program Manager
Daniel Clark
Materials, Enabling R&D, INFUSE
Phone: 301-903-4883

Program Manager
Josh King
Spherical Tokamak
Phone: 240–535–0834

Program Manager
Matthew Lanctot
Long Pulse Tokamak, Advanced Tokamak, AI/ML
Phone: 301-903-1972

Program Manager
Nirmol Podder
General Plasma Science, Microelectronics
Phone: 301-903-9536

Program Manager
Guinevere Shaw
Fusion Nuclear Science, Enabling R&D
Phone: 301-903-9113