Reports and Activities

Program Research Summaries

Conferences and Workshop Reports

The Division sponsors workshops and studies to assist the identification of future research directions and/or to shape future research initiatives. The workshop reports have mostly been published in archival journals. (see also our Contractors Meetings)


Materials Council sponsored studies (1997-present):

  • "Interface-Induced Phenomena in Magnetism," Frances Hellman, Axel Hoffmann, Yaroslav Tserkovnyak, Geoffrey S.D. Beach, Eric E. Fullerton, Chris Leighton, Allen H. MacDonald, Daniel C. Ralph, Dario A. Arena, Hermann A. Dürr, Peter Fischer, Julie Grollier, Joseph P. Heremans, Tomas Jungwirth, Bert Koopmans, Ilya N. Krivorotov, Steven J. May, Amanda K. Petford-Long, James M. Rondinelli, Nitin Samarth, Ivan K. Schuller, Andrei N. Slavin, Mark D. Stiles, Oleg Tchernyshyov, André Thiaville, and Barry L. Zink; Rev. Mod. Phys. 89, 025006 (2017) DOI:
  • "Imaging physical phenomena with local probes: From electrons to photons," Dawn A. Bonnell, D. N. Basov, Matthias Bode, Ulrike Diebold, Sergei V. Kalinin, Vidya Madhavan, Lukas Novotny, Miquel Salmeron, Udo D. Schwarz, and Paul S. Weiss Rev. Mod. Phys. 84, 1343 – Published 26 September 2012.  
  • "Towards an Integrated Materials Characterization Toolbox," I.M. Robertson, C.A. Schuh, J.S. Vetrano, N.D. Browning, D.P. Field, D.J. Jensen, M.K. Miller, I. Baker, D.C. Dunand, R. Dunin-Borkowski, B. Kabius, T.Kelly, S. Lozano-Perez, A. Misra, G.S. Rohrer, A.D. Rollett, M.L. Taheri, G.B. Thompson, M. Uchic, X.-L. Wang, G. Was, J. Mater Res. 26(11) 1341-1383 (2011).
  • "Long Range Interactions in Nanoscale Science," R.H. French, V.A. Parsegian, R. Podgornik, R.F. Rajter, A. Jagota, J. Luo, D. Asthagiri, Y.-M. Chiang, S. Granick, S. Kalinin, M. Kardar, R. Kjellander, D.C. Langreth, J. Lewis, S. Lustig, D. Wesolowski, J.S. Wettlaufer, W.-Y. Ching, M. Finnis, F. Houlihan, O. A. von Lilienfeld, C. J. van Oss, T. Zemb, Rev. Mod. Phys., 82 (4-6) 1887-1943 (2010).
  • "Electrostatic Modification of Novel Materials," C.H. Ahn, A. Bhattacharya, M. Di Ventra, J.N. Eckstein, C.D. Frisbie, M.E. Gershenson, A.M. Goldman, I.H. Inoue, J. Mannhart, A.J. Millis, A.F. Morpurgo, D. Natelson, J.-M. Triscone, Rev. Mod. Phys. 78, 1185-1212 (2006).
  • "Macromolecules at Surfaces: Research Challenges and Opportunities from Tribology to Biology," S. Granick, S.K. Kumar, E.J. Amis, M. Antonietti, A.C. Balazs, A.K. Chakraborty, G.S. Grest, C. Hawker, P. Janmey, E.J. Kramer, R. Nuzzo, T.P. Russell, C.R. Safinya, Journal of Polymer Science: Part B: Polymer Physics 41:2755-2793 (2003).
  • "Nanoscale Thermal Transport," D.G. Cahill, W.K. Ford, K.E. Goodson, G.D. Mahan, A. Majumdar, H. J. Maris, R. Merlin and S.R. Phillpot, Journal of Applied Physics, 93:793-818 (2003).
  • "Report on UC Berkeley Nanoengineering Workshop, August 4-5, 2000, A. Majumdar, J. Hickman, K. Likharev, A. Shakouri, Microscale Thermophysical Engineering, 4:131-154 (2001).
  • "Relaxation in glass forming liquids and amorphous solids," C. A. Angell, K. L. Ngai, G. B. McKenna, P. F. McMillan, and S. W. Martin J. Appl. Phys. 88, 3113 (2000).
  • "DOE Panel on Time-Dependent Interfacial Decohesion," C. J. McMahon, J. A. Pfaendtner, R. C. Muthiah, C. T. Liu, D. A. Muller, R. F. Cook, P. Sofronis, J. Lufrano, Y. Xu, J. L. Bassani, Y. Mishin, C. Herzig, P. Gumbsch, O. N. Mryasov, and A. J. Freeman, Materials Science and Engineering A, 260, vii-x & 1-93 (1999).
  • "Tailored Porous Materials," T. J. Barton, L. M. Bull, W. G. Klemperer, D. A. Loy, B. McEnaney, M. Misono, P. A. Monson, G. Pez, G. W. Scherer, J. C. Vartuli, O. M. Yaghi, Chemistry of Materials, 11(10), 2633-2656 (1999).
  • "Radiation Effects in Crystalline Ceramics for the Immobilization of High-Level Nuclear Waste and Plutonium," W. J. Weber, R. C. Ewing, C. R. A. Catlow, T. Diaz de la Rubia, L. W. Hobbs, C. Kinoshita, H. Matzke, A. T. Motta, M. A. Nastasi, E. H. K. Salje, E. R. Vance, S. J. Zinkle, J. Mater. Res., 13(6), 1434-1484 (1998).
  • "Radiation Effects in Glasses Used for Immobilization of High-Level Waste and Plutonium Disposition," W. J. Weber, R. C. Ewing, C. Austen Angell, G. W. Arnold, A. N. Cormack, J. M. Delaye, D. L. Griscom, L. W. Hobbs, A. Navrotsky, D. L. Price, A. M. Stoneham, M. C. Weinberg, J. Mater. Res., 12(8), 1946-1978 (1997).
  • "Ion Beams in Silicon Processing and Characterization," E. Chason, S. T. Picraux, J. M. Poate, J. O. Borland, M. I. Current, T. Diaz de la Rubia, D. J. Eaglesham, O. W. Holland, M. E. Law, C. W. Magee, J. W. Mayer, J. Melngailis, A. F. Tasch, Journal of Applied Physics, 81(10), 6513-6561 (1997).

Other DOE/BES Reports:

The DOE Energy Materials Coordinating Committee (EMaCC) enhances coordination among the Department's materials programs and furthers the effective use of materials expertise within the Department through the exchange of budgetary and planning information among program managers and through the sponsorship of technical meetings/workshops on selected topics.

Energy Materials Coordinating Committee (EMaCC) Reports

FY 2004

FY 2003

FY 2002

FY 2001

FY 2000

FY 1999

FY 1998

FY 1997

FY 1996

FY 1995

FY 1994

FY 1993

FY 1992

FY 1991

FY 1990

FY 1989

FY 1988

FY 1986

FY 1985

FY 1984

FY 1983

FY 1982

FY 1980

FY 1979

FY 1978