Staff

Office of Biological and Environmental Research 
Dr. Sharlene Weatherwax, Associate Director 
Phone: 301-903-3251
Fax: 301-903-5051
sharlene.weatherwax@science.doe.gov

Climate and Environmental Sciences Division
Dr. Gary Geernaert, Director

Biological Systems Science Division
Dr. Todd Anderson, Director

BER Program Contacts
Mailing Address:
SC-23, Germantown Building
U.S. Department of Energy;
1000 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20585-1290
Location, address for express mail & packages:
SC-23, U.S. Department of Energy
19901 Germantown Road
Germantown, MD 20874-1290


Associate Director Office Staff Contacts

Name

Title

Phone Ext.

Email

Mr. Michael Riches

Senior Technical Advisor

301-903-3264

mike.riches@science.doe.gov

Dr. Tristram West

Senior Technical Advisor

301-903-5155

tristram.west@science.doe.gov

Ms. Leslie Madison

Program Analyst

301-903-9135

leslie.madison@science.doe.gov

Brittaney McMillian Program Analyst (Contractor)  301-903-3251 brittaney.mcmillian@science.doe.gov

Ms. Terry Lagana

Program Support Assistant

301-903-3213

terry.lagana@science.doe.gov

Ms. Nver Mekerdijian

Program Support Specialist (Contractor)

301-903-3281

nver.mekerdijian@science.doe.gov


Climate and Environmental Sciences Division
Dr. Gary Geernaert, Director
Phone: 301-903-4775
Fax: 301-903-8519
Gerald.Geernaert@science.doe.gov

Staff Members

Phone Number

Email

Programmatic Area

Mr. Andrew Flatness

301-903-0488

andrew.flatness@science.doe.gov

CESD Program Specialist

Mr. Paul Bayer

301-903-5324

paul.bayer@science.doe.gov

EMSL User Facility

Dr. Justin Hnilo

301-903-1399

justin.hnilo@science.doe.gov

Data Management

Dr. Renu Joseph

301-903-9237

renu.joseph@science.doe.gov

Earth and Environmental Systems Modeling

Dr. Michael Kuperberg*

301-903-3511

michael.kuperberg@science.doe.gov

Terrestrial Ecosystem Science

Dr. Jessica Moerman**

301-903-3120

jessica.moerman@science.doe.gov

AAAS Fellow

Dr. Shaima Nasiri

301-903-0207

shaima.nasiri@science.doe.gov

Atmospheric System Research

Dr. Sally McFarlane

301-903-0943

sally.mcfarlane@science.doe.gov

ARM User Facility

Mr. Rickey Petty

301-903-5548

rick.petty@science.doe.gov

ARM User Facility

Dr. Daniel Stover

301-903-0289

daniel.stover@science.doe.gov

Terrestrial Ecosystem Science

Mr. Bob Vallario

301-903-5758

bob.vallario@science.doe.gov

Earth and Environmental Systems Modeling

*Currently on detail to the Office of Science and Technology Policy
** AAAS Fellowship Program

Biological Systems Science Division
Dr. Todd Anderson, Director
Phone: 301-903-5469
Fax: 301-903-0567
Todd.Anderson@science.doe.gov

Staff Members

Phone Number

Email

Programmatic Area

Ms. Meredith Rutledge

301-903-0088

meredith.rutledge@science.doe.gov

BSSD Program Specialist

Dr. Dawn Adin

301-903-0570

dawn.adin@science.doe.gov

Foundational Genomics Research

Dr. Sujata Emani**

301-903-1239

sujata.emani@science.doe.gov

AAAS Fellow

Dr. Shing Kwok 301-903-2977 shing.kwok@science.doe.gov Foundational Genomics   Research

Dr. Ramana Madupu

301-903-1398

ramana.madupu@science.doe.gov

JGI User Facility / Computational Biosciences

Dr. Kent Peters

301-903-5549

kent.peters@science.doe.gov

Bioenergy Research Centers

Dr. Pablo Rabinowicz

301-903-0379

pablo.rabinowicz@science.doe.gov

Biosystems Design

Dr. Cathy Ronning

301-903-9549

catherine.ronning@science.doe.gov

Environmental Genomics

Dr. Seema Singh***

301-903-1678

seema.singh@science.doe.gov

Foundational Genomics Research

Dr. Prem Srivastava

301-903-4071

prem.srivastava@science.doe.gov

Biomolecular Characterization and Imaging

Dr. Amy Swain

301-903-1828

amy.swain@science.doe.gov

Biomolecular Characterization and Imaging

Dr. Boris Wawrik

301-903-4742

boris.wawrik@science.doe.gov

Environmental Genomics

Ms. Elizabeth (Libby) White

301-903-7693

elizabeth.white@science.doe.gov

Human Subjects

** AAAS Fellowship Program
***Currently on detail to BER from Sandia National Laboratories