Official List of SC User Facilities

Issuance of the official list of SC User Facilities originated with the formal adoption of the official definition of an SC user facility.

Link Fiscal Year Issue Date Significant Changes from Prior Issuance
PDF FY 2021 October 1, 2020 The Facility for Rare Isotope Beams received full user facility designation on May 14, 2020.
PDF FY 2020 October 1, 2019 None.
PDF FY 2019 October 1, 2018 None.
PDF FY 2018 October 1, 2017  None.
PDF FY 2017 October 1, 2016 Removal of Alcator C-Mod due to facility closure.
PDF FY 2016 October 1, 2015 The National Spherical Tokamak Experiment Upgrade commenced operations on September 25, 2015.
PDF  FY 2015 revised  July 8, 2015  The National Synchrotron Light Source II received full user facility designation on July 8, 2015.
PDF FY 2015 revised March 19, 2015  The Consolidated and Further Continuing Appropriations Act, 2015 ceased Office of Science operations funding at the Lujan Neutron Scattering Center. On March 19, 2015 the Accelerator Test Facility was designated an Office of Science user facility and the National Synchrotron Light Source II entered operating status with a provisional user facility designation.
PDF FY 2015 October 1, 2014 The three Basic Energy Sciences Electron Beam Microcharacterization Centers at ANL, LBNL, and ORNL were administratively merged with their respective neighboring Nanoscale Science Research Centers.
PDF FY 2014 October 1, 2013 None.
PDF FY 2013 October 1, 2012 None.
PDF FY 2012 revised March 26, 2012 Removal of the Holifield Radioactive Ion Beam Facility due to facility closure.
PDF FY 2012 January 6, 2012 Issued with the memorandum “Definition of an Office of Science User Facility.”

For years prior to FY 2012, information regarding user facility status can be found in the annual Office of Science Congressional Budget Request.