DOE Nominees Among Outstanding Early-Career Scientists Honored by President Obama

The list of researchers named today by President Obama as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) includes 13 nominated by the Department of Energy. PECASE awards are the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.

"The impressive achievements of these early-stage scientists and engineers are promising indicators of even greater successes ahead," President Obama said. "We are grateful for their commitment to generating the scientific and technical advancements that will ensure America's global leadership for many years to come."

Federal science agencies join together annually to nominate the most meritorious scientists and engineers whose early accomplishments show the greatest promise for assuring America's preeminence in science and engineering and contributing to the awarding agencies' missions.

The awards, established by President Clinton in 1996, are coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive Office of the President. Awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach. The winners will receive their awards at a Washington, DC, ceremony in the coming year.

DOE-nominated awardees are:

  • Dr. Brian Anderson, West Virginia University
  • Dr. Theodore Betley, Harvard University
  • Dr. Matthew Brake, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Mr. Adrian Chavez, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Dr. Gary Douberly, University of Georgia
  • Dr. Mattan Erez, University of Texas at Austin
  • Dr. Sean Hartnoll, Stanford University
  • Dr. Daniel Kasen, University of California at Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Dr. Meimei Li, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Dr. Miguel Morales, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Dr. Jennifer Reed, University of Wisconsin at Madison
  • Dr. Seth Root, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Dr. Adam Weber, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

The full list of awardees can be viewed here.