E. O. Lawrence Award Nominations

Call for Nominations – 2013 E. O. Lawrence Award

Nominations are sought for the 2013 E. O. Lawrence Awards beginning now through May 31, 2013. The outcome of the 2012 Lawrence Awards is anticipated to be announced soon.

The Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award is bestowed by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Energy to mid-career scientists and engineers in recognition of exceptional scientific, technical, and/or engineering achievements related to the broad missions of the U.S. Department of Energy and its programs. The Lawrence Award is administered by the Department of Energy's Office of Science. The Award consists of a citation signed by the Secretary of Energy, a gold medal, and a $20,000 honorarium. An award is given in each of the following eight categories: Atomic, Molecular, and Chemical Sciences, Biological and Environmental Sciences, Computer, Information, and Knowledge Sciences, Condensed Matter and Materials Sciences, Energy Science and Innovation, Fusion and Plasma Sciences, High Energy and Nuclear Physics, and National Security and Nonproliferation.

The Lawrence Award's webpage (http://science.energy.gov/lawrence) describes its nomination guidelines and process. All nominations are made via an electronic submission process at http://www.orau.gov/lawrence.

We encourage the nomination of a diverse pool of candidates.