Office of Science Salutes its New AAAS Fellows

Ten researchers from labs which the Department of Energy's (DOE's) Office of Science stewards were recently elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

The honor recognizes individuals "Who have made scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications." The new fellows were formally announced in the journal Science on Nov. 29th, and they will also be recognized at the 2014 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.

New AAAS fellows from Office of Science labs include:

Argonne National Laboratory (ANL)

  • Tijana Rajh, a senior scientist and group leader for the nanobio research interface group within Argonne's Center for Nanoscale Materials. She was elected for her, "Distinguished contributions to the fields of nanoscience and nanotechnology, with particular emphasis on semiconductor-assisted photocatalysis, solar energy conversion and energy storage."
  • Lynda Soderholm, a senior scientist and group leader of heavy element and separations science in the Chemical Sciences and Engineering Division at Argonne. She was chosen for her contributions to the application of advanced physical techniques – especially high-energy X-ray scattering – to elucidate the structures of actinide-containing systems in dynamic solutions.

Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

  • Andreas Kronfeld, a physicist, was elected for his contributions to the field of high-energy physics, particularly for leading efforts to connect lattice gauge theorists and experimenters in particle physics.

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

  • Stephen P. Cramer, Physical Biosciences Division, who was recognized for the development and creative applications of synchrotron X-ray spectroscopy to bioinorganic chemistry.
  • Norman Marvin Edelstein, Chemical Sciences Division, was recognized for distinguished contributions to the field of inorganic chemistry, with special emphasis on the synthesis, magnetic properties, and optical spectroscopy of complexes of the 4f- and 5f-elements.
  • Glen Lambertson, retired, Accelerator and Fusion Research Division, who was recognized for fundamental contributions to accelerator science and technology including significant advances in beam electrodynamics that enable the operation of high luminosity electron and hadron colliders.

Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL)

  • Suresh Babu, University of Tennessee (UT)-ORNL Governor's Chair in Advanced Manufacturing. He was cited for "Distinguished contributions to computational materials sciences, nonequilibrium phase transformations and application of in situ neutron and synchrotron diffraction tools and other advanced characterization methods."
  • Clyde Hazen, UT-ORNL Governor's Chair for Environmental Biotechnology. He was recognized for "Distinguished contributions in the field of microbial ecology and bioremediation, particularly for the systems biology approach to the Deepwater Horizon oil spill disaster."
  • Martin Keller, ORNL Associate Laboratory Director for Energy and Environmental Sciences as well as founding director of its BioEnergy Science Center. He was recognized for "Distinguished contributions to bioenergy science, and for dynamic and inspiring leadership of innovative partnerships to advance the development and deployment of clean energy technologies."

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL)

  • Steven Ashby, PNNL's Deputy Director for Science and Technology as well as chair of DOE's National Laboratory Chief Research Officers Council. He was recognized for "Exceptional technical contributions and scientific leadership in applied mathematics and computational science, particularly the development of novel numerical methods and robust software for parallel computers, as well as for exemplary service to the field of computational science and engineering."

The Department's Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information please visit

Charles Rousseaux is a Senior Writer in the Office of Science,