Department of Energy to Provide $104 Million to Support Small Businesses

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Department of Energy (DOE) Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) and Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) program office issued its FY 2019 Phase II Release 1 Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) with approximately $104 million in available funding. The following DOE program offices within the Office of Science are participating in this FOA:

  • Office of Advanced Scientific Computing Research
  • Office of Basic Energy Sciences
  • Office of Biological and Environmental Research
  • Office of Nuclear Physics

Eligible small businesses that have previously received Phase I grants will be able to compete for Phase II grants with a duration of up to 2 years and maximum award amounts of $1,000,000 or $1,500,000, depending on research topic. Phase II grants allow businesses that conducted early stage feasibility research and development in Phase I to reduce their innovations to practice by developing working prototypes or new processes. In addition, eligible small businesses that have received prior Phase II awards will be able to compete for sequential Phase II grants with a duration of up to 2 years and a maximum ward amount of $1,000,000. Sequential Phase II grants allow businesses to continue their research and development with a focus on commercializing their innovations

DOE recognizes the important role that small businesses play in driving innovation and creating jobs in the U.S. economy. The SBIR and STTR programs were created by Congress to leverage small businesses to advance innovation at federal agencies. Additional information on the DOE SBIR and STTR programs can be found on the program's website HERE.

More details on the DOE SBIR/STTR Phase II Release 1 FOA can be found HERE.