Call for U.S. Papers for IAEA 2018 Fusion Energy Conference

The 27th IAEA Fusion Energy Conference (FEC2018) will be held in Ahmedabad, India on October 22-27, 2018. The official IAEA announcement is available at: http://www-pub.iaea.org/iaeameetings/54171/27th-IAEA-Fusion-Energy-Conference-FEC-2018.

Here is the schedule for the submission and selection of U.S. papers for this conference:

U.S. Submission Deadline:

- Please submit the abstracts and two-page synopses via email to the U.S. Paper Selection Committee (USPSC) before January 19, 2018. Send the documents to FEC2018.US@science.doe.gov.
- The topical and sub-topical areas are described in the "Annex A: Scientific Guidelines for Authors" document, which is available at: http://www-pub.iaea.org/MTCD/Meetings/PDFplus/2018/cn258/cn258Annex.pdf. The areas are also reproduced below for your convenience:

0	OV	Overviews
0	EXC	Magnetic Confinement Experiments: Confinement
0	EXS	Magnetic Confinement Experiments: Stability
0	EXW	Magnetic Confinement Experiments: Wave–plasma interactions; current drive; heating; energetic particles
0	EXD	Magnetic Confinement Experiments: Plasma–material interactions; divertors; limiters; scrape-off layer (SOL)
0	THC	Magnetic Confinement Theory and Modelling: Confinement
0	THS	Magnetic Confinement Theory and Modelling: Stability
0	THW	Magnetic Confinement Theory and Modelling: Wave–plasma interactions; current drive; heating; energetic particles
0	THD	Magnetic Confinement Theory and Modelling: Plasma–material interactions; divertors; limiters; SOL
0	PPC	Plasma Overall Performance and Control
0	IFE	Inertial Fusion Experiments and Theory
0	ICC	Innovative Confinement Concepts
0	FIP	Fusion Engineering, Integration and Power Plant Design
0	FNS	Fusion Nuclear Physics and Technology
0	MPT	Materials Physics and Technology
0	SEE	Safety, Environmental and Economic Aspects of Fusion

- Be sure to indicate the topical area (and sub-topical area for EX and TH submissions) in which each paper should be considered (consult Annex A "Scientific Guidelines for Authors" of the IAEA announcement for the acceptable content of papers).
- All submitted files must be in PDF format. To facilitate the processing of these electronic files, please use the following file-naming convention:

[first author's family name].[initial of first author's given name]-[topic]-[subtopic]-Abstract [first author's family name].[initial of first author's given name]-[topic]-[subtopic]-Synopsis

Examples:

Smith.J-EX-C-Abstract.pdf Jones.R-TH-S-Synopsis.pdf Johnson.T-IFE-Abstract.pdf • In addition, please fill in a line in the attached spreadsheet for each submission and submit it to the same email address along with your abstract and synopsis. We would prefer only one spreadsheet for each institution listing all of the abstracts/synopses, but it is acceptable to send one spreadsheet along with each abstract/synopsis. Replace the sample data with your actual data.

To facilitate the processing of these spreadsheets, please use the following file-naming convention:

[institution name]-Information
or
[first author's family name].[initial of first author's given name]-Information
Examples:
PPPL-Information.xlsx
Smith.J-Information.xlsx

• Authors should be aware that only one paper per same first author may be submitted for consideration.

U.S. Paper Selection Committee:

- The USPSC will select the papers to be forwarded to the IAEA. This Committee will meet in Germantown, Maryland, on **January 30-31, 2018**.
- The members of the Committee are David Anderson, Richard Buttery, Ahmed Diallo, Terry Rhodes, Vlad Soukhanovskii, and Anne White (EX and PPC); CS Chang, David Green, Zhihong Lin, François Waelbroeck, and Ron Waltz (TH); Dick Majeski and Uri Shumlak (ICC); Dustin Froula, Ray Leeper, and Andy MacKinnon (IFE); and the VLT led by Phil Ferguson (FIP, FNS, MPT, & SEE).

After the U.S. Selection Process:

- The results of the USPSC meeting will be communicated to the authors soon after the meeting.
 Authors will be informed whether their papers have been selected for submission to the IAEA
 and about any recommendations from the U.S. Paper Selection Committee for combining or
 modifying the accepted papers.
- The authors whose papers have been selected for submission to the IAEA should submit their abstracts and two-page synopses <u>directly to the IAEA</u>, following the instructions in Section D of the IAEA announcement, **by March 12, 2018** (European time zone). Copies should also be sent to FEC2018.US@science.doe.gov.
- Authors will also be required to submit their Participation Form (Form A) and a Form for Submission of a Paper (Form B) to Ms. Shahida Afzal (Shahida.Afzal@science.doe.gov) at FES. These forms can be obtained from the IAEA conference website (http://www-pub.iaea.org/iaeameetings/54171/27th-IAEA-Fusion-Energy-Conference-FEC-2018). Please note that anyone who is not a lead author on a paper (i.e. a contributing author or someone not associated with any paper) who wants to attend the meeting is also required to submit a Form A to Ms. Afzal. These forms will be forwarded to IAEA by FES to complete the nomination process.

FEC2018 Programme Committee:

- The IAEA FEC2018 International Programme Committee will make the final selection of the papers for the conference. The Programme Committee will meet **April 23-27, 2018**, at the IAEA Headquarters in Vienna, Austria.
- All decisions about whether a paper is to be accepted as either an oral or poster presentation, or to be rapporteured, etc., will be made by the IAEA FEC2018 International Programme Committee,

- and will be communicated to the author directly by the IAEA. However, U.S. authors can express their preference for an oral or poster presentation in their submission to the USPSC.
- The U.S. members of the International Programme Committee are: Richard Buttery, CS Chang, Ray Leeper, John Mandrekas, and Anne White.

Please share this information with colleagues at your institution and at other institutions. It will also be posted on the DOE Fusion Energy Sciences web site. For technical questions, please contact me or Matthew Lanctot (Matthew.Lanctot@science.doe.gov). For administrative questions, please contact Ms. Shahida Afzal (Shahida.Afzal@science.doe.gov).

John Mandrekas, Ph.D. Acting Director, Research Division Office of Fusion Energy Sciences U.S. Department of Energy 301-903-4923 john.mandrekas@science.doe.gov