

Distinguished Educator Fellowship Program

The 2015-16 Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellowship Awardees

The U.S. Department of Energy and partnering Federal agencies have finalized the selections for the 2015-16 Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellows. Eleven outstanding science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) educators have been selected to serve the 11-month fellowship in Washington, DC, within the offices of three sponsoring agencies and four Congressional Offices.

The 2015-16 Einstein Fellows were selected from a nationwide pool of applicants through a rigorous application and interview process, and will begin their appointments September 1, 2015.

The new 2015-16 Albert Einstein Fellows, listed by sponsoring agency, are:

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

Joanna Hubbard, a middle school science and computer science teacher from Nicholas J. Begich Middle School in Anchorage, AK. Joanna is sponsored by the Department of Energy's Office of Science and will serve as a Congressional Fellow on Capitol Hill in the Office of Congressman Mike Honda.

Sally Mitchell, a high school chemistry teacher from East Syracuse Minoa Central High School in East Syracuse, NY. Sally will serve at the Department of Energy's Office of Science.

Jessica Mulhern, a high school biology teacher from Wilde Lake High School in Columbia, MD. Jessica is sponsored by the Department of Energy's Office of Science and will serve as a Congressional Fellow on Capitol Hill in the Office of Congressman John Sarbanes.

Teresa Sappington, a high school engineering teacher from Lamar County Center for Technical Education in Purvis, MS. Teresa is sponsored by the Department of Energy's Office of Science and will serve as a Congressional Fellow on Capitol Hill in the Office of Congressman Mark Takano.

Cristina Veresan, a middle school science teacher from the Star of the Sea School in Honolulu, HI. Cristina is sponsored by the Department of Energy's Office of Science and will serve as a Congressional Fellow in the Office of Senator AI Franken.

Donna Volkmann, a high school science teacher from James Madison High School in Vienna, VA. Donna will serve at the Department of Energy's Office of Science.

NATIONAL AERONAUTICS AND SPACE ADMINISTRATION

Cristal Jones, a high school computer science and robotics teacher from Creekside High School in Fairburn, GA. Cristal will serve at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration's Goddard Space Flight Center, MD and NASA Headquarters, DC.

Susan Kennedy, a high school technology and engineering teacher at Clinton High School in Clinton, NC. Susan will serve at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration's Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate.

NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION

Douglas Baltz, a high school science teacher at Birmingham Seaholm High School in Birmingham, MI. Douglas will serve at the National Science Foundation, Education and Human Resources Directorate, Division of Undergraduate Education.

Matthew Owens, a high school mathematics teacher at Spring Valley High School in Columbia, SC. Matthew will serve at the National Science Foundation, Directorate for Education and Human Resources, Division of Human Resources and Development.

Timothy Stone, a high school Fabrication Laboratory Instructor and engineering teacher at the STEM School Chattanooga in Chattanooga, TN. Timothy will serve at the National Science Foundation, Directorate for Computer and Information Science & Engineering, Division of Computer and Network Systems.

For questions, please contact the AEF Program Office http://science.energy.gov/wdts/einstein/contact/.