Dr. James H. Glownia

Physical Scientist
Office of the Deputy Director for Science Programs
SC-2/Germantown Building, Room H-201
U.S. Department of Energy
1000 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, D.C. 20585-1290

Email: james.glownia@science.doe.gov
Phone: 301-903-2411
Fax: 301-903-7780
Primary work location: Germantown, MD

James H. Glownia joined the Office of the Deputy Director for Science Programs in October 2008. His responsibilities include advising on many aspects of science program management, serving as primary liaison to the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) and the Technology Transfer Office, and managing the Fermi and Lawrence Award programs. Just prior to his present position, he was the Ultrafast Science and Instrumentation Program Manager in the Materials Sciences and Engineering Division of Basic Energy Sciences / Office of Science. From 2002 until 2007, he was at the Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL), where he held various leadership positions, including directorship of their $130M Laboratory Directed Research and Development (LDRD) program. While at LANL, he also served as a manager at the Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies (CINT), an Office of Science, Nanoscale Science Research Center and Scientific User Facility. From 1982 until 2002, he was a Research Staff Member in the Physical Sciences Department at the IBM Research Division’s Thomas J. Watson Research Center. Dr. Glownia received the Ph.D. degree in Chemical Physics from Yale University in 1981, which was followed by a postdoctoral appointment at LANL. His scientific research interests and experience center primarily on the development and application of ultrafast laser based experimental techniques to study complex ultrafast dynamic, nonlinear and coherent phenomena in atomic, molecular and material systems. Dr. Glownia is the author of more than 100 peer-reviewed archival journal articles, has 14 patents and has given numerous invited presentations. He holds memberships in the Optical Society of America and the American Physical Society (APS), being elected a Fellow of the APS in 1993.