Dr. James B. Murphy

Dr. James Murphy

Scientific User Facilities Division
Office of Basic Energy Sciences
SC-22.3/Germantown Building
U.S. Department of Energy
1000 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, D.C. 20585-1290

E-Mail: James.Murphy@science.doe.gov
Phone: (301) 903-0839
Fax: (301) 903-1690
Office: F-402, DOE Germantown


Dr. Murphy joined the Office of Basic Energy Sciences (BES) as the Director of the Scientific User Facilities Division (SUFD) in August 2012. The BES Scientific User Facilities Division is the most expansive division in the DOE Office of Science encompassing 16 scientific user facilities with combined annual operating budgets in excess of $775M and new facility construction budgets on the order of $200M in support of 15,000 users annually in FY 2014. As division director, Dr. Murphy works with BES stakeholders to provide robust day-to-day operations of the unique portfolio of synchrotron light sources, neutron scattering facilities, nanoscale science research centers, and electron beam micro-characterization centers and to ensure continued U.S. leadership with facility upgrades and new facility construction.

Dr. Murphy has over 30 years of experience in working with BES scientific user facilities.  He joined the staff of the National Synchrotron Light Source (NSLS) as a postdoctoral research associate in 1983 to work on the development of free electron lasers. In his 29 years at the NSLS, Dr. Murphy’s appointments include Senior Scientist, NSLS Deputy Chairman for Accelerators & Operations and NSLS Associate Chairman for Accelerator Research & Development. He has expertise in the design, construction and operation of both electron storage ring and free electron laser based light source facilities. Dr. Murphy has coauthored over 120 papers and made numerous oral presentations at national and international scientific conferences.

Dr. Murphy received his B.S. & M.S. degrees in Nuclear Engineering from the Pennsylvania State University and the University of Wisconsin-Madison respectively, and his Ph.D. in Physics from Dartmouth College.