EFRC External Websites

External Websites of the Energy Frontier Research Centers

Centers ordered alphabetically by state and then by institution


Center for Novel Pathways to Quantum Coherence in Materials (NPQC)
Joel Moore, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Photonics at Thermodynamic Limits (PTL)
Jennifer Dionne, Stanford University

Center for Mechanistic Control of Water-Hydrocarbon-Rock Interactions in Unconventional and Tight Oil Formations (CMC-UF)
Anthony Kovscek, Stanford University

Center for Gas Separations (CGS)
Jeffrey Long, University of California, Berkeley

Center for Synthetic Control Across Length-scales for Advancing Rechargeables (SCALAR)
Sarah Tolbert, University of California, Los Angeles

Spins and Heat in Nanoscale Electronic Systems (SHINES)
Jing Shi, University of California, Riverside

Quantum Materials for Energy Efficient Neuromorphic Computing (Q-MEEN-C)
Ivan Schuller, University of California, San Diego


Center for Hybrid Organic Inorganic Semiconductors for Energy (CHOISE)
Matthew Beard, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Center for Next Generation of Materials Design (CNGMD)
William Tumas, National Renewable Energy Laboratory


Catalysis Center for Energy Innovation (CCEI)
Dionisios Vlachos, University of Delaware


Center for Actinide Science & Technology  (CAST)
Thomas Albrecht-Schmitt, Florida State University

Center for Molecular Magnetic Quantum Materials (M2QM)
Hai-Ping Cheng, University of Florida


Center for Understanding and Control of Acid Gas-induced Evolution of Materials for Energy (UNCAGE-ME)
Krista Walton, Georgia Institute of Technology


Center for Thermal Energy Transport under Irradiation (TETI)
David Hurley, Idaho National Laboratory


Advanced Materials for Energy-Water Systems (AMEWS)
Seth Darling, Argonne National Laboratory

Center for Electrochemical Energy Science (CEES)
Paul Fenter, Argonne National Laboratory

Center for Bio-Inspired Energy Science (CBES)
Samuel Stupp, Northwestern University

Center for Light Energy Activated Redox Processes (LEAP)
Michael Wasielewski, Northwestern University


Center for the Advancement of Topological Semimetals (CATS)
Robert McQueeney, Ames Laboratory


Institute for Quantum Matter (IQM)
Collin Broholm, Johns Hopkins University

Nanostructures for Electrical Energy Storage (NEES)
Gary Rubloff, University of Maryland


Integrated Mesoscale Architectures for Sustainable Catalysis (IMASC)
Cynthia Friend, Harvard University

The Center for Enhanced Nanofluidic Transport (CENT)
Michael Strano, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Inorganometallic Catalyst Design Center (ICDC)
Laura Gagliardi, University of Minnesota

New Jersey

Bioinspired Light-Escalated Chemistry (BioLEC)
Gregory Scholes, Princeton University

New Mexico

Fundamental Understanding of Transport Under Reactor Extremes (FUTURE) 
Blas Uberuaga, Los Alamos National Laboratory

New York

NorthEast Center for Chemical Energy Storage (NECCES)
M.Stanley Whittingham, Binghamton University

Molten Salts in Extreme Environments (MSEE)
James Wishart, Brookhaven National Laboratory

Programmable Quantum Materials (Pro-QM)
Dmitri Basov, Columbia University

Center for Alkaline-Based Energy Solutions (CABES)
Héctor Abruña, Cornell University

A Next Generation Synthesis Center (GENESIS)
John Parise, Stony Brook University

Center for Mesoscale Transport Properties (m2mt)
Esther Takeuchi, Stony Brook University

North Carolina

Alliance for Molecular PhotoElectrode Design for Solar Fuels (AMPED)
Gerald Meyer, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Breakthrough Electrolytes for Energy Storage (BEES)
Robert Savinell, Case Western Reserve University

Center for Performance and Design of Nuclear Waste Forms and Containers (WastePD)
Gerald Frankel, Ohio State University


Center for Lignocellulose Structure and Formation (CLSF)
Daniel Cosgrove, Pennsylvania State University

Center for Complex Materials from First Principles (CCM)
John Perdew, Temple University

South Carolina

Center for Hierarchical Waste Form Materials (CHWM)
Hans-Conrad zur Loye, University of South Carolina


Fluid Interface Reactions, Structures and Transport Center (FIRST)
David Wesolowski, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Energy Dissipation to Defect Evolution (EDDE)
Yanwen Zhang, Oak Ridge National Laboratory


Center for Materials for Water and Energy Systems (M-WET)
Benny Freeman, University of Texas at Austin


Multi-Scale Fluid-Solid Interactions in Architected and Natural Materials (MUSE)
Darryl Butt, University of Utah


Center for Molecular Electrocatalysis (CME)
R. Morris Bullock, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Interfacial Dynamics in Radioactive Environments and Materials (IDREAM)
Sue B. Clark, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

The Center for the Science of Synthesis Across Scales (CSSAS)
François Baneyx, University of Washington

Biological Electron Transfer and Catalysis Center (BETCy)
John Peters, Washington State University