

For Immediate Release: December 1, 2008 Contact: Kristin Scuderi 202-294-0186 <u>kscuderi@ostp.eop.gov</u>

THE SCIENCE OF SCIENCE POLICY ROADMAP TO BE UNVEILED

WASHIGNTON—More than 200 of the world's leading science policy experts will meet December 3-4, 2008, at George Washington University in Washington, D.C., to review and begin the implementation of a new report, *The Science of Science Policy: A Federal Research Roadmap*, an interagency effort sponsored by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

"We know that our future as an innovation economy is tied to our investment in science and technology, so it's vital that we have the best data and analysis available when making these billion dollar decisions," said Dr. John H. Marburger III, the President's Science Advisor and Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. "This Roadmap reflects two years of study and analysis by an Interagency Task Group that examined current practice and opportunities for improvement in our ability to analyze the effectiveness and benefits of our Nation's science and technology investments."

The Roadmap is organized into three general scientific themes (Understanding Science and Innovation, Investing in Science and Innovation, and Using the Science of Science Policy to Address National Priorities) and 10 science questions that must be answered before the scientific themes can be fully addressed. In addition, the Roadmap analyzes the existing suite of data sources, tools and methods used by the science policy community.

The Roadmap and information about the Dec. 3-4 workshop can be found at the following website: <u>http://scienceofsciencepolicy.net</u>

The Roadmap was prepared by the Interagency Task Group on Science Policy to the Subcommittee on Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences, Committee on Science, National Science and Technology Policy, Office of Science and Technology Policy. The Interagency Task Group on Science Policy is/was chaired by Bill Valdez of the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science and Julia Lane of the National Science Foundation.