News Media Contacts: National Science Bowl® Press Room: <u>Natalie.Soldan@science.doe.gov</u>, 202-287-5813.

For Immediate Release: Friday, June 5, 2020

DOE National Science Bowl® Update: Only Four Teams Remain in the Middle School Competition

Washington D.C. – The field of middle school finalists in the Department of Energy National Science Bowl® has narrowed once more, and now only four middle school teams remain in the competition.

The teams remaining are:

- Jonas Clarke Middle School, Lexington, Massachusetts
- Ladue Middle School, St. Louis, Missouri
- Preston Middle School, Fort Collins, Colorado
- Wisconsin Hills Middle School, Brookfield, Wisconsin

The top two teams will receive \$2,500 to take back to their schools to support their science departments.

The top four teams will receive \$2,000, the top eight teams will receive \$1,500, and the top 16 teams will take home \$1,000 for their schools' science departments.

Altogether, nearly 10,000 high school students and more than 5,000 middle school students from all 50 U.S. States, District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico participated in this year's regional competitions.

DOE created the National Science Bowl[®] in 1991 to encourage students to excel in mathematics and science and to pursue careers in these fields. Approximately 325,000 students have participated in the National Science Bowl[®] since its creation. Students may sign up to compete in next year's National Science Bowl competition beginning in October.

DOE's Office of Science manages the National Science Bowl® and sponsors the finals competition.

Additional information about the teams and the National Science Bowl® is available at: https://science.osti.gov/wdts/nsb.

###