DOE/NSF Nuclear Science Advisory Committee Meeting



Agenda

Doubletree/Hilton Washington DC – Crystal City Washington Ballroom Arlington, Virginia



	Friday, October 18, 2019	
8:15 am – 9:00 am	Annual Ethics Briefing (CLOSED SESSION)	Rachel Kestenbaum, DOE Office of General Counsel
9:00 am – 9:05 am	Welcome and Introduction	David Hertzog, NSAC Chair University of Washington
9:05 am – 9:35 am	Perspectives from the Department of Energy	Chris Fall, Director Office of Science
9:35 am – 10:00 am	DOE Office of Nuclear Physics Overview	Timothy J. Hallman, Associate Director, Office of Science
10:00 am – 10:45 am	Presentation on Diversity and Inclusion in the Office of Science	Julie Carruthers, Senior Science & Technology Advisor, Office of Science
10:45 am – 11:00 am	Break	
11:00 am – 11:30 am	Perspectives from the National Science Foundation	Denise Caldwell, Director, Division of Physics, NSF
11:30 am – 12:00 pm	NSF Office of Nuclear Physics Overview	Allena K. Opper, Program Director, Nuclear Physics, NSF
12:00 am – 12:15 am	Presentation of New Charge: Molybdenum-99	Timothy J. Hallman, Associate Director, Office of Science
12:15 pm – 1:15 pm	Lunch	
1:15 pm – 2:00 pm	Presentation of the Quantum Computing and Quantum Information Science Subcommittee Report	Martin Savage Subcommittee Chair University of Washington
2:00 pm – 2:30 pm	Discussion of the Quantum Computing and Quantum Information Science Report	NSAC
2:30 pm – 3:00 pm	The sPHENIX Project	Gunther Roland MIT
3:00 pm – 3:30 pm	The Double Beta Decay Topical Collaboration	Jonathan Engel University of North Carolina
3:30 pm – 3:45 pm	Break	
3:45 pm – 4:15 pm	The Beam Energy Scan Theory Topical Collaboration	Swagato Mukherjee Brookhaven National Laboratory
4:15 pm – 4:30 pm	Public Comment	
4:30 pm	Adjourn	