**Ani Aprahamian** is a Frank M. Freimann chair professor of Physics at the University of Notre Dame. She is an experimental nuclear physicist interested in the origins of the heavy elements in the universe and the structure of neutron rich nuclei far from stability. Outside of her research, she has strong interests in the applications of nuclear science to energy and medicine.

She is the present chair of the American Physical Society's Division of Nuclear Physics and a member of the APS Policy Committee. She is also on the advisory board of "Physics Today". She is a member of the FRIB Science Advisory Committee, JINA (Joint Institute for Nuclear Astrophysics) executive committee, and the scientific council of EMMI (ExtreMe Matter Institute) Helmholtz alliance at GSI. She has chaired various APS and DNP committees including the Bonner Prize, Hans Bethe Prize, Mentoring, Fellowship, Program, and the Committee on Informing the Public amongst others.

She has formerly served on various committees of the National Science Academies, most recently, as co-chair of the Academies decadal review of nuclear physics (NP2010) released in 2012. She is a fellow of the APS (1999), and the AAAS (2008). She is an elected foreign member of the science academy of the republic of Armenia. She is a member of the national physics honor society of Sigma Pi Sigma, and the American Chemical Society's Division of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology.

She has mentored 17 graduate students and 10 postdoctoral fellows. To date, she has published over 150 peer-reviewed papers and given over 200 invited addresses at national and international conferences. She received her Ph.D. in Nuclear Chemistry from Clark University in 1986, and was a postdoctoral fellow at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory prior to joining the faculty of the Physics Department and the Nuclear Science Laboratory at the University of Notre Dame in 1989.