

Science Program Office - Office of Science

P.O. Box 1663, MS-A121 Los Alamos, New Mexico 87545 505-665-1883

Dr. Patricia M. Dehmer Acting Director, Office of Science, SC-1 U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585

Dear Dr. Dehmer:

On February 4, 2015, you charged the Fusion Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (FESAC) to develop a report on "the contribution of fusion energy sciences to scientific discovery and the development and deployment of new technologies beyond possible applications in fusion energy." We are pleased to transmit that report, and we would like to thank Professor Amy Wendt and the members of her subcommittee of experts in answering your charge. They evaluated the full FES portfolio with respect to broad non-fusion energy categories in a remarkably short period of time. Prof. Mark Koepke, the FESAC Chair, also contributed to the subcommittee's findings. At the request of FES, I served as the Acting FESAC Chair for purposes of reviewing the subcommittee's report.

Date:

Symbol: SPO-SC

September 3, 2015

FESAC reviewed and discussed the subcommittee report at their public teleconference meeting on July 17, and voted unanimously to endorse the report with revisions voiced by FESAC members at that meeting. All revisions were promptly implemented and are now included in this report.

Sincerely,

Donald J. Rej Program Director

Smed J. Kej

Office of Science Programs at Los Alamos National Laboratory Acting Chair, Fusion Energy Sciences Advisory Committee

cc: E. Synakowski (DOE/FES)

S. Barish (DOE/FES)



FESAC:

- A. Bhattacharjee (PPPL)
- T. Carter (UCLA)
- A. Dasgupta (NRL)
- J. Foster (University of Michigan)
- C. Greenfield (GA)
- R. Groebner (GA)
- C. Hegna (University of Wisconsin)
- V. Izzo (UCSD)
- J. Kim (FAR-TECH)
- M. Koepke (West Virginia University)
- G. Neilson (PPPL)
- G. Patello (PNNL)
- J. Rapp (ORNL)
- L. Sugiyama (MIT)
- E. Zweibel (University of Wisconsin)

Ex-officio Members

- R. Betti (APS-DPP, University of Rochester)
- J. Verboncoeur (IEEE-NPSS, Michigan State University)
- A. Lumsdaine (ANS, ORNL)

