



Welcome and Opening Remarks

FESAC Meeting Thursday-Friday 12-13 March 2015 8:30am – 5:30pm (Eastern time)

Mark Koepke, West Virginia University FESAC Chair

Announcement

FESAC will bid farewell to four members whose terms will end in June, thank you for your service!

- Bruce Cohen, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
- **Robert Rosner**, University of Chicago
- Christopher Keane, Washington State University
- **Steve Zinkle**, University of Tennessee

To the continuing members of FESAC, thank you for your continuing service!

Agenda features the presentation and discussion of the Committee of Visitors report

1:15 – 2:00pm Thursday: Presentation to FESAC of the report from the FESAC Committee of Visitors (Amitava Bhattarcharjee)

2:00-2:45pm Thursday: Question, Answer, Discussion (Mark Koepke, Amitava Bhattacharjee)

8:30-9:15am Friday: FESAC consideration of COV report for FESAC approval (Mark Koepke) *If FESAC approves, this COV report, possibly with minor edits, gets submitted to DOE-SC.*

5:00-5:30pm Thursday: Public Comment Session (Mark Koepke) Speakers wishing to present should contact Dr. Sam Barish (<u>sam.barish@science.doe.gov</u>) to be put on the session schedule.

11:00am Friday: Further Discussion (Mark Koepke) Schedule contingency for COV approval discussion and other business.

12 noon Friday: Adjourn

March 12	Food Kiosk Available for Purchase Starting at 6:00 a.m.	
Time	Торіс	Speaker
8:30 a.m.	Opening Remarks	Mark Koepke, FESAC Chair
8:45 a.m.	DOE/SC Perspective and FY 2016 President's Budget Request for SC	Dr. Dehmer, Acting Director, Office of Science
9:30 a.m.	FES Strategic Planning	Dr. Synakowski, Associate Director for FES
10:45 a.m.	Break	
11:00 a.m.	Perspectives on Science and Energy at DOE	Dr. Franklin Orr, Under Secretary for Science and Energy
11:45 a.m.	Lunch	
1:15 p.m.	COV Report	Amitava Bhattacharjee, COV Chair
2:45 p.m.	New Non-Fusion Applications Charge	Dr. James Van Dam, Director FES Research Division
3:30 p.m.	Break	
3:45 p.m.	Update on Community Engagement Workshops	Gene Nardella (FES Chief of Staff) and Workshop Chairs
5:00 p.m.	Public Comment	Professor Mark Koepke
5:30 p.m.	Adjourn	

March 13	Food Kiosk Available for Purchase Starting at 6:00 a.m.	
Time	Торіс	Speaker
8:30 a.m.	Consideration for Approval of the COV Report	Mark Koepke and Amitava Bhattacharjee
9:15 a.m.	Frontiers, Challenges, and Opportunities for U.S. Nuclear Science	Dr. Timothy J. Hallman, Associate Director for Nuclear Physics
10:00 a.m.	Break	
10:15 a.m.	ITER Project Progress	Graeme Murdoch, Director US ITER Non-Nuclear Systems Division Oak Ridge National Laboratory
11:00 a.m.	Further Discussion	Professor Mark Koepke
12:00 noon	Adjourn	