

# Fusion Energy Sciences Program Update

Fusion Energy Sciences Advisory Committee



www.ofes.fusion.doe.gov

#### **Dr. James Decker**

Principal Deputy Director Office of Science

June 1, 2006

# Major Activities Since the Last FESAC Meeting on February 28-March 1

- o OFES Management changes
- o Responses to the Congress on the EPAct requirements
- o ITER related activities
- o Grant solicitations
- o Status of major facility operations
- o Progress with the U.S. Burning Plasma Organization

## **OFES Management Changes**

- o I am acting as the Associate Director (AD) for Fusion Energy Sciences
- o Job announcement for AD position closed on 3/31/06
- o Expected to announce selection in Fall 2006
- o Erol Oktay, Steve Eckstrand and Gene Nardella are acting as the Director, Research Division on a two month rotation
- Warren Marton is acting as the Director, ITER and International Division

## **Requirements by the Energy Policy Act of 2005**



domestic fusion program

 Limitation: 60-day review by Congress prior to expending construction funds

## ITER Status Next Steps Leading to Signing

- The ITER Parties will take the following steps to advance the ITER Agreement to its final stages:
  - Initialed the ITER Agreement in Brussels on May 24, 2006.
  - Lehman and OECM Reviews: Fall 2006
  - Sign the ITER Agreement on November 29, 2006, location to be determined.
  - Ratify/accept in early-mid calendar year 2007, documents to be sent to the International Atomic Energy Agency Director General who is acting as Depository.
- o Ned Sauthoff/Warren Marton will provide more details later on the agenda

### **Grant Solicitation for NSF/DOE Partnership**

- o The NSF/DOE partnership in Basic Plasma Science and Engineering is entering its 9<sup>th</sup> year
- o The third major joint solicitation is entering its final phase
  - Funding for grants this year is about \$3 million from DOE and \$2 million from NSF
  - In addition to mail reviews, seven panels were convened at NSF headquarters on April 10-11 to review the more than 200 grant applications that were submitted in response to the solicitation
- o The DOE and NSF program managers agreed on 29 awards by DOE alone, 2 joint NSF/DOE awards; NSF has not yet finalized the NSF only awards
- o All applicants will be informed when NSF has completed writing up its review

#### **Plasma Physics Junior Faculty Development Program**

- o Results of FY06 Solicitation
  - 7 proposals submitted
  - 2 awards made (\$ 335 K)
    - Jan Egedal-Pedersen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, "Laboratory Studies of Reconnection in Magnetically Confined Plasmas,"
    - Chuang Ren, University of Rochester, "Current-Driven Filament Instabilities in Relativistic Plasmas."

- o All three facilities are operating; their progress on their FY 2006 schedules are:
  - Alcator C-Mod almost completed its 14 weeks of operation
  - DIII-D completed its year-long shutdown for major modifications; it will start a 12 week campaign
  - NSTX has almost completed its 11 week schedule.

# The US Burning Plasma Organization (USBPO) is Now Fully Formed

- The USBPO Director is Ray Fonck (Wisconsin) and Tony Taylor is Deputy Director
- o The USBPO Council Chair is Jim VanDam (Texas) and Vice-Chair is Amanda Hubbard (MIT)
  - The Council has 12 members from across the community
- o There are ten topical groups in USBPO
  - Leaders and co-leaders have been nominated
  - Further details on: http://burningplasma.org/
- An important USBPO task has been the preparation of the ITER EPAct Report, to be reported by Ray Fonck at this meeting.