

72 South Central Campus Drive, Room 3750, Salt Lake City, Utah 84112 Telephone: (801) 585-1867

June 28, 2023

Dr. Asmeret Asefaw Berhe, Director Office of Science Department of Energy

Dr. Harriet Kung, Deputy Director Office of Science for Programs Department of Energy

Dr. Ceren Susut, Acting Associate Director Advanced Scientific Computing Research, Office of Science Department of Energy

It is my pleasure to transmit the final report of DOE's Advanced Scientific Computing Advisory Committee (ASCAC), entitled "Can the United States Maintain Its Leadership in High-Performance Computing?" This report was prepared in response to the charge to ASCAC issued by Steve Binkley, then Acting Director of the Office of Science.

I am grateful to ASCAC and the ASCAC subcommittee, chaired by Jack Dongarra (ASCAC/Tennessee) and Ewa Deelman (USC).

Sincerely,

Daniel A. Reed

Onie b. Red

Chair, Advanced Scientific Computing Advisory Committee

cc: Christine Chalk